May National Teacher of the Month

The teachers at our preschool programs across the county are the game changers. They are dedicated, passionate and truly know how to engage each of their students every day.

The process of choosing just one teacher each month is tough, but we are pleased to announce that our 2019 May Teacher of the Month is Maritza Sanchez of Little Sunshine’s Playhouse and Preschool of Willowbrook, IL! Here is some fun information about her and what makes her such a standout!

What age group do you teach?
I teach preschool

What is the name of your classroom?
Enchanted Forest

What do you love most about the age group you teach?
I love walking into the classroom and seeing their little faces light up with a smile every morning – they are so eager to learn! I love the hugs the kids give me each morning and hearing that they love me. I also love seeing the difference I make in their lives, every single day.

What is your favorite curriculum project you’ve ever done in your classroom?
Our curriculum theme in June is “Spectacular Space!” I really enjoyed helping the students make the different phases of the moon out of sticky sand for our space unit.

What do you enjoy most about working for LSP?
There are so many great things about LSP, but one of the things I enjoy the most is the bond I have formed with other educators in the school. I love watching their successes and how open we can be with each other.

Who and/or what inspires you?
My parents, who are always there to support me.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
Physical fitness is something I really enjoy and do in my free time outside of work.

Tell us one special fact about yourself that no one would expect.
Sporting events are my thing!

We also want to say congratulations to all the nominees who are listed below. Thank you for all your hard work and dedication!

Nichole Merritt – Alpharetta
Rita Riggs – Colorado Springs
Madi Barnett – Franklin
Rebecca LeBreck – Gilbert (Val Vista)
Lauren Crutchfield – Granite Bay
Vanessa McGruder – Lakeway
Brenda Sanchez – Leawood
Joey Short – Littleton
Kaitlyn DeNoyer– O’Fallon
Brenda Sanchez – Overland Park
Stephanie Barrios – Ozark
Maria Ruiz – Rogers
Anna Murders – San Antonio – Dominion
Sarah Clark – San Antonio – Stone Oak
Erin Curnutte – Scottsdale
Kara Turner – Southlake
Ashley Hill – Springfield I
Mikayla Gresham – Springfield II
Kendra Skinner – Springfield III
Ermalinda Pena – The Woodlands
Kasey Kosmel – University City